The Sidney Prize

Awarded to individuals whose writing and work have the power to bring about positive change in the world. The prize honours the spirit and legacy of Sidney Cox, a Dartmouth professor of English who taught for over forty years at the college. The prize is intended to perpetuate in some small way the generative influence which he exercised over hundreds of students both within and out of the classroom.

This year’s winners include a New York Times investigation of Haiti’s colonial debt; a ProPublica/New Yorker feature on the privatization of hospice; and More Perfect Union’s agenda-setting videos explicating corporate greed. They join the ranks of previous Hillman Prize winners including the founders of Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America and a former president of the Amalgamated Textile Workers, as well as writers from The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and Slate.

In the early spring, the Committee (if one may use such a word for a body that has been named in memory of an individual) will consider all manuscripts submitted for the award. During the year, the Committee will assemble in Hanover at least once to meet with the contestants and discuss their submissions. A single judge of the manuscripts, chosen yearly, will be responsible for assessing each submission and will make the decision to award the prize. The judge will appoint his or her successor for the following year.

The Society for the History of Technology’s prestigious book prize is named in honor of the distinguished historian of technology, the late Dr. Sidney Edelstein. Established in 1968, the prize is awarded annually to that book which most nearly meets “those high standards of originality and integrity” which Edelstein set for himself and his students in his teaching and his writing. The prize consists of a monetary award and a certificate.

Winners and finalists receive national recognition at the Society’s Triennial Council Meeting. Nominations will be solicited in the Key Reporter and in the general newsletter a year and a half before the Triennial Council meeting.

In addition to our awards, there are other opportunities for scholars to be recognized and celebrated at a local level. See below for a list of local events, awards and prizes that recognize scholarly achievement in the fields of philosophy, undergraduate teaching and liberal arts education.

If your entry takes up the voice or experience of a marginalised community or identity, do you identify yourself as a member of that community or experience? This question is not mandatory but is asked in order to ensure that our judges understand how their consideration of your submission might be impacted by the fact that your work speaks for, or is written through, people who are not white.

The Sydney Peace Prize is an international annual prize given by the City of Sydney to a nominee who has promoted “peace with justice”, human rights and non-violence. Past winners include Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mary Robinson and Noam Chomsky.

The Winners of the Singapore Prize 2023

The 2023 winners of the Singapore prize have been announced. The biennial award honours writers across the island-state’s four official languages: Chinese, English, Malay and Tamil. The pool of entries was smaller than in previous years, with 12 top prizes up for grabs in a range of categories.

Britain’s Prince William is in Singapore to announce the winners of his Earthshot prize, a PS1m award for green innovators. He arrived Tuesday and met with local groups to hear about their work. He also sat down for a round of dragon boating and will visit the United for Wildlife global summit. William, 41, was traveling without his wife, Kate Middleton, who stayed home to support their son’s school exams.

SGIFF’s main stage is home to a number of short film, documentary and animation works from around the region, including the winning entries for the Tan Ean Kiam Foundation-SGIFF Southeast Asian Documentary Grant and the SGIFF Southeast Asian Short Film Grant. These finalists and their creators will be awarded cash prizes, as well as a year-long mentorship from the festival. The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 23.

In the Readers’ Choice category, the four winning titles – “Making of a Great Nation”, “Magic Babe Ning”, “Teduk-Teduk Pangeran” and “Wang Sik-Kian” – were chosen by more than 4,000 readers in an online vote. These four titles will receive a combined total of S$120,000 in cash prizes, as well as a year-long mentoring programme with film makers and production houses.

A Singapore-based architecture firm has won the world’s best building award for a housing complex that integrates community space and more than 100 apartments for senior citizens. The judges of the prestigious World Architecture Festival in Amsterdam selected Kampung Admiralty for its integration of public facilities, community space and a network of walkways, beating hundreds of shortlisted projects that were competing for the title.

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) and the Singapore FinTech Association (SFA) have announced the winners of the SFF Global FinTech Hackcelerator and SFF Global FinTech Awards 2023. The awards recognise innovative solutions and entrepreneurship in the financial services industry.

Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, the inaugural Singapore Prize for Young Talents has been awarded to 11 individuals and teams. The winner for each of the 12 categories consists of a team that is not more than six people.

The annual Singapore Literature Prize will award authors in Singapore’s four official languages of Chinese, English, Malay and Tamil. This year’s competition was held in a different format, with each of the 12 categories now consisting of fiction, nonfiction and poetry, instead of separate awards for each language. This is the first time that the prize has offered a combined award for literature in all four of its categories. This was to better reflect the wide range of writing talent in Singapore, according to organisers. The winners will be honoured at an event at Victoria Theatre on August 25.