The Sidney Prize

Awarded to individuals whose writing and work have the power to bring about positive change in the world. The prize honours the spirit and legacy of Sidney Cox, a Dartmouth professor of English who taught for over forty years at the college. The prize is intended to perpetuate in some small way the generative influence which he exercised over hundreds of students both within and out of the classroom.

This year’s winners include a New York Times investigation of Haiti’s colonial debt; a ProPublica/New Yorker feature on the privatization of hospice; and More Perfect Union’s agenda-setting videos explicating corporate greed. They join the ranks of previous Hillman Prize winners including the founders of Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America and a former president of the Amalgamated Textile Workers, as well as writers from The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and Slate.

In the early spring, the Committee (if one may use such a word for a body that has been named in memory of an individual) will consider all manuscripts submitted for the award. During the year, the Committee will assemble in Hanover at least once to meet with the contestants and discuss their submissions. A single judge of the manuscripts, chosen yearly, will be responsible for assessing each submission and will make the decision to award the prize. The judge will appoint his or her successor for the following year.

The Society for the History of Technology’s prestigious book prize is named in honor of the distinguished historian of technology, the late Dr. Sidney Edelstein. Established in 1968, the prize is awarded annually to that book which most nearly meets “those high standards of originality and integrity” which Edelstein set for himself and his students in his teaching and his writing. The prize consists of a monetary award and a certificate.

Winners and finalists receive national recognition at the Society’s Triennial Council Meeting. Nominations will be solicited in the Key Reporter and in the general newsletter a year and a half before the Triennial Council meeting.

In addition to our awards, there are other opportunities for scholars to be recognized and celebrated at a local level. See below for a list of local events, awards and prizes that recognize scholarly achievement in the fields of philosophy, undergraduate teaching and liberal arts education.

If your entry takes up the voice or experience of a marginalised community or identity, do you identify yourself as a member of that community or experience? This question is not mandatory but is asked in order to ensure that our judges understand how their consideration of your submission might be impacted by the fact that your work speaks for, or is written through, people who are not white.

The Sydney Peace Prize is an international annual prize given by the City of Sydney to a nominee who has promoted “peace with justice”, human rights and non-violence. Past winners include Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mary Robinson and Noam Chomsky.